wildefire – prediction post

Hello, friends! I’m back! I ended up taking off (most of) the month of June because I did go overseas for an amazing vacation, and then I had to read A Piece of Cake for my book club, so I figured I wouldn’t try and fit in anything else until my schedule cleared up a little. Now I’m back, feeling refreshed, and super judgey!

After the Katerina books, I decided to go for something more contemporary, and following an extremely scientific process of “asking my husband if I should read a real book or something on my Kindle” (he said a real book), I chose Wildefire, which I bought last September, specifically for the purpose of judging it.

So, first the cover:

wildefire

Now the blurb, courtesy of Goodreads:

Every flame begins with a spark.

Blackwood Academy was supposed to be a fresh start for Ashline Wilde. A secluded boarding school deep in the heart of California’s redwood forests, three thousand miles from her old life – it sounded like the new beginning she needed after an act of unspeakable violence left a girl in her hometown dead.

But Blackwood is far from the peaceful haven Ashline was searching for.

Because terrifying, supernatural beasts roam the forests around campus.

Because the murderer from Ashline’s hometown – her own sister – has followed her across the country.

Because a group of reincarnated gods and goddesses has been mysteriously summoned to Blackwood…

…and Ashline’s one of them

First of all, REINCARNATED GODS AND GODDESSES, THAT IS THE OTHER REASON I PICKED UP THIS BOOK, YES.

  1. First of all, I don’t even know how to deal with how yonic the cover is. I really hope that means this is a SUPER GIRL POWER BOOK (although I feel like I probably shouldn’t hold my breath on that one).
  2. The act of unspeakable violence is something that Ashline was not responsible for, nor would any sensible people hold her responsible for it, people still do, because her sister did it.
  3. She’s all excited for the new change, but Literally Female Draco Malfoy is snotty to her so even though everyone else loves her and is glad she’s there, Ashline will hate it.
  4. Ashline will also be really good at something that LFDM has always been tops at so there will be even more basis for the rivalry.
  5. There will be a love triangle between Ashline, a bad boy who is also rich and kind of a jerk, and an obviously-perfect-for-her good guy.
  6. This being the first of a trilogy, we won’t know who wins the triangle.
  7.  The administrators of the school will be SUPER VAGUE about the dangerous animals outside, then when Ashline inevitably gets into a tangle with them, will be like BUT WE TOLD YOU!!!
  8. No one will believe the danger presented by her sister until Ashline finally talks about what happened back home.
  9. Everyone (including Ashline) is going to presume she’s the reincarnated version of Hestia or Iris or whatever …
  10. …but she’s actually going to be, like, Hera. Or Hades.

We’ll see if I’m right!

Leave a comment